Canadian GP: Russell beats Verstappen to provisional pole in Canada

Max Verstappen and George Russell finished the Canadian Grand Prix in pole position, despite the two posting identical timings after an exciting qualifying session.

Russell took the pole in his F1 career for the second time, and Mercedes’s first since the Hungarian Grand Prix last year, setting his 1:12.000 ahead of Verstappen.

Oscar Piastri, Lando Norris’s teammate at McLaren, finished third, just 0.021 seconds behind pole position. Lewis Hamilton, who had demonstrated remarkable speed in the last practice, had to settle for seventh place.

Charles Leclerc and Carlos Sainz’s Ferraris were eliminated in the second qualifying round at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, while Sergio Perez was eliminated in the first round.

In front of Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton, Daniel Ricciardo achieved his best qualifying result of the year in fifth place.

After it was revealed earlier on Saturday that Yuki Tsunoda will remain at RB through 2025, he finished eighth, ahead of Alex Albon of Williams and home driver Lance Stroll.

Canadian GP Qualifying Timesheet

Driver Team Time
1) George Russell Mercedes 1:12.000
2) Max Verstappen Red Bull +0.000
3) Lando Norris McLaren +0.021
4) Oscar Piastri McLaren +0.103
5) Daniel Ricciardo RB +0.178
6) Fernando Alonso Aston Martin +0.228
7) Lewis Hamilton Mercedes +0.280
8) Yuki Tsunoda RB +0.414
9) Lance Stroll Aston Martin +0.701
10) Alex Albon Williams +0.796
Knocked out in Q2
11) Charles Leclerc Ferrari 1:12.691
12) Carlos Sainz Ferrari 1:12.728
13) Logan Sargeant Williams 1:12.736
14) Kevin Magnussen Haas 1:12.916
15) Pierre Gasly Alpine 1:12.940
Knocked out in Q1
16) Sergio Perez Red Bull 1:13.326
17) Valtteri Bottas Sauber 1:13.366
18) Esteban Ocon Alpine 1:13.435
19) Nico Hulkenberg Haas 1:13.978
20) Zhou Guanyu Sauber 1:14.292

Other posts by