British GP: Hamilton ends 56-race win drought with record breaking 9th win at Silverstone

After going 56 races without a win, Lewis Hamilton ended his winless streak with a stunning victory in the British Grand Prix at Silverstone, which set a record ninth win.

Max Verstappen, leading the world championship, passed Lando Norris of McLaren in the last laps in a wild race disrupted by rain, but Hamilton withstood the latter’s late effort to win his home race.

The seven-time world champion now guarantees that his final season with Mercedes before joining Ferrari next year will be marked with a victory. He had not won a race since the Saudi Arabian Grand Prix in 2021.

With his career-long 104th grand prix triumph, Hamilton broke the record he had previously shared with Michael Schumacher and became the first Formula 1 driver to win the same race nine times. In addition, he increased the record number of podiums at that event to twelve.

“Since 2021, every day I’m getting up and fighting to train to put my mind to the task and work as hard as I can with this amazing team,” Hamilton said.

“This is my last race here at the British Grand Prix with this team. I wanted to win this so much for them because I love them and appreciate them so much.

“All the hard work they put in over these years. I’m forever grateful to everyone at Mercedes and all our partners. And to all our incredible fans. I could see you lap by lap. There’s no greater feeling to finish at the front here.”

The triumph brought joy to the British fans at Silverstone, and a distraught Hamilton communicated with Mercedes chief Toto Wolff and his longtime race engineer Peter Bonnington via team radio.

After claiming the chequered flag, the 39-year-old waved a Union Flag out of his cockpit. As soon as he got out of the car, his parents welcomed him.

British GP Result

Driver Team Time
1) Lewis Hamilon Mercedes 1:22:27.059s
2) Max Verstappen Red Bull +1.465
3) Lando Norris McLaren +7.547
4) Oscar Piastri McLaren +12.439
5) Carlos Sainz Ferrari +47.318
6) Nico Hulkenberg Haas +55.722
7) Lance Stroll Aston Martin +56.569
8) Fernando Alonso Aston Martin +63.577
9) Alex Albon Williams +68.387
10) Yuki Tsunoda RB +79.303
11) Logan Sargeant Williams +88.960
12) Kevin Magnussen Haas +90.153
13) Daniel Ricciardo RB +1 lap
14) Charles Leclerc Ferrari +1 lap
15) Valtteri Bottas Sauber +1 lap
16) Esteban Ocon Alpine +2 laps
17) Sergio Perez Red Bull +2 laps
18) Zhou Guanyu Sauber +2 laps
George Russell Mercedes DNF
Pierre Gasly Alpine DNF

Other posts by