Formula1, MotoGP, Motorsport

SIC-MAM will host first ever Malaysia Motorsports Awards tonight

The Sepang International Circuit will be teaming up with the Motorsports Association of Malaysia to host the country’s first ever SIC-MAM Malaysia Motorsports Awards.

The event will take place on February 13th at the Royale Chulan Hotel, Kuala Lumpur, and it will honour local motorsport icons in Malaysia. The awards will be graced by the presence of Alex Yoong, Jazeman Jaafar, Zulfahmi Khairuddin, Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah, Khairul Idham Pawi, Nabil Jeffri and Adam Norrodin.

Some of the awards to be given out tonight will be Rider of the Year, Team of the Year, Malaysia Motorsport People’s Choice Award, amongst others.

The ceremony will also be immortalising some of our local motorsport icons by inducting them into the Hall of Fame. Some of the nominees for the Hall of Fame include Karamjit Singh, Alex Young, Khairul Idham Pawi, Shahrol Yuzy and Ron Hogg.

Apart from the motorsport icons, SIC-MAM is also teaming up with the Sportswriters Association of Malaysia (SAM) to recognise outstanding writers in the motorsport industry. There will be two awards given out under the SIC-MAM-SAM team up, namely best journalist and best photographer.

“So many people have played their part in contributing to the development of motorsports in Malaysia, which is exciting, dynamic and inclusive – from competitors to teams, officials, journalists, clubs, corporations and even fans.” SIC’s CEO Datuk Razlan Razali said.

“We believe it’s about time that we recognised and honoured those who have contributed so much to the development of motorsports in Malaysia. SIC and MAM are proud and grateful to have this opportunity to bring this awards to life.”

Other posts by