MotoGP, Motorsport

#SICMAMAwards: Hafizh Syahrin bags People’s Choice award & full list of winners

Malaysia’s Grand Prix racer Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah has proven to be Malaysia’s favourite as he claimed the People’s Choice Award at Malaysia’s motorsports awards yesterday.

The event, jointly organised by the Sepang International Circuit and Motorsports Association of Malaysia (SIC-MAM) was also Malaysia’s first ever motorsports event, curated to honour the sporting icons in the country.

23-year old Hafizh Syahrin, also known as Malaysia’s King of the Pocket Bikes, competes in the Moto2 category and has taken Malaysia to various international arena. He finished 9th at the recent Moto2 World Championship, with a total 118 points.

Moto3 racer Khairul Idham Pawi bagged the award for Best Rider of the Year (2 wheels). He claimed the prize after winning two races at the Moto3 championship last year.

Meanwhile, Malaysian racer Jazeman Jaafar claimed the award for Best Driver of the Year (4 Wheels). The HTP Motorsports racer registered his best finish with a second place at the Blancpain GT Series Sprint Cup in 2016.


Here’s the full list of winners at the #SICMAMAwards2016:

SIC-MAM-SAM Media Award (Best Journalist)
Saiful Affendy – Harian Metro

SIC-MAM-SAM Media Award (Best Photographer)
Abdul Razak Latif – Kosmo

Team of the year (2wheels)
Project X Racing Team

Team of the year (4 wheels)
Sakura Tedco Racing (STR)

National Championship Award
Tengku Djan

Malaysia Motorsports People’s Choice Award
Hafizh Syahrin

Malaysia Motorsports Hall of Fame
Tan Sri Mokhzani Mahathir
Datuk Abdul Razak Dawood
Karamjit Singh
Alex Yoong
Ron Hogg
Shahrol Yuzy
Khairul Idham Pawi
Zulfahmi Khairuddin

‪Best Driver of the Year Award (4 wheels)‬
Jazeman Jaafar

‪Best Rider of the Year Award (2 wheels)‬
Khairul Idham Pawi

Other posts by