President Cup: Persib beat Sriwijaya in crowd-troubled final

Persib Bandung emerged champions of the 2015 President Cup after overcoming a stubborn Sriwijaya FC 2-0 at the Bung Karno Stadium, in a final marred by fights between fans of both clubs.

Both goals came in the first half of the match, courtesy of Ahmad Jufriyanto and a Dian Agus own goal, gifting Persib it’s second title in two years.

However, the match was overshadowed by clashes between Bobotoh, the nickname of Persib fans and Jakmania, the fans of Persija Jakarta.

Security measures were already tightened in the buildup up to the match, with the Jakarta Police arresting 12 boys for attempting to start a riot towards the end of the match.

With over 70,000 supporters watching, both sides showed their aggressive approach towards the game from the kickoff.

Persib took the lead through a well worked free kick from Jufriyanto in the sixth minute, after a foul on Montenegro’s Ilija Spasojevic.

As the first half near the end, Persib continued their solid defense at the back and forced an own goal from keeper Agus, as the ball bounced off him through Makan Kanote’s shot.

After the break, Sriwijaya came out determined but could not find a way past Persib goalkeeper I Made Wirawan, who made few fine saves.

Persib’s victory means that the club has won back-to-back honors, after winning last year’s Indonesian Super league (ISL) trophy.

They received Rp 4.2 billion worth prize money, while runner up Sriwijaya took home Rp 3.2 billion.

Other posts by