Miami GP: Max Verstappen holds off Charles Leclerc to claim Sprint Pole

On Saturday, Max Verstappen defeated Charles Leclerc in a thrilling Miami GP Sprint.

After starting from pole position, Verstappen faced challenges from Leclerc on the first lap, but he managed to maintain his lead until Lando Norris was involved in a first-corner crash with Lewis Hamilton, Lance Stroll, and Fernando Alonso, prompting the deployment of a safety car.

After battling back past Daniel Ricciardo, who achieved his best finish of the year in fourth place, Sergio Perez came in third.

Throughout the 100-kilometer sprint, Ricciardo resisted pressure from Carlos Sainz and Oscar Piastri. Nico Hulkenberg gave Haas additional points in seventh place, while Yuki Tsunoda took home the final point in eighth place after Hamilton was penalised for exceeding the speed limit in the pits.

Kevin Magnussen, who was trying to assist Haas teammate Hulkenberg, had taken three penalties in a heated scramble with Hamilton.

After taking home the gold in the 2022 and 2023 Grands Prix, Verstappen’s victory in Miami maintains him ahead of Perez by 27 points in the drivers’ championship.

Miami GP Sprint: Top 8

1) Max Verstappen, Red Bull

2) Charles Leclerc, Ferrari

3) Sergio Perez, Red Bull

4) Daniel Ricciardo, RB

5) Carlos Sainz, Ferrari

6) Oscar Piastri, McLaren

7) Nico Hulkenberg, Haas

8) Yuki Tsunoda, RB

Other posts by