WATCH: Maradona scored the ‘Hand of God’ goal today in 1986

Thirty one years ago today at the 1986 World Cup, Maradona scored twice to eliminate England from the World Cup.

One of the goals was a clear handball, which Maradona reached up and punched in with his left hand.

After scoring the controversial goal, Maradona said, “I was waiting for my teammates to embrace me, and no one came… I told them, ‘Come hug me, or the referee isn’t going to allow it.”

The goal is referred to as the “Hand of God” because the Argentinian said that the goal was the result of “un poco con la cabeza de Maradona y otro poco con la mano de Dios”, which translates to “a little with the head of Maradona and a little with the hand of God”


Other posts by