51 pairs to compete in World Doubles Championship, including Malaysia

The fifth edition of the World Doubles Championship will kick off on the 1st August this year in Manchester.

A total of 12 countries will be participating in the tournament, including Malaysia. Team Malaysia will be led by none other than our very own squash queen, Datuk Nicol David.

The World Doubles Championship will feature men’s doubles, women’s doubles, and mixed doubles event.

“A record 51 pairs will participate — 17 men’s, 21 mixed and 13 women’s — representing Australia, Canada, Colombia, England, India, Malaysia, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Scotland, South Africa and Wales.” a statement on the World Squash Federation (WSF) website read.

“Pairing details will be confirmed in July after the deadline for the final nominations, but 13 players from the current men’s and women’s top 20 ranking lists are expected to compete.”

“England likely to be led by Laura Massaro, James Willstrop, Alison Waters, Daryl Selby and Sarah-Jane Perry, while Wales have Tesni Evans and Scotland have Alan Clyne as probable spearheads,” the statement read.

According to the Squash Racquet Association of Malaysia (SRAM), Nicol David will we pairing with Rachel Arnold in the women’s event.

Mohd Nafiizwan Adnan will be partnering with Ivan Yuen, while Muhammad Syafiq Kamal will be partnering Ng Eain Yow in the men’s doubles event.

The World Doubles Championships will be held at the National Squash Centre in Manchester, from 1st of August until 5th of August.

Other posts by