Abdul Latif bags Sportsman of Year & full list of winners at #ASN2016

The National Sports Awards 2016 (ASN 2016) took place at the Grand Ballroom, Shangri-La Hotel last night.

The awards was, of course, to honour the achievements and hard work by all of our national athletes over the course of last year.

The biggest winner of the night was Rio Paralympics gold medalist Abdul Latif Romly, who was named Best Sportsman of the Year for 2016. Abdul Latif is also the first para-athlete ever to be given the honour.

Abdul Latif currently holds the world record of 7.60 m for the men’s long jump event, where he also bagged gold for Malaysia.

Abdul Latif defeated the likes of badminton king Lee Chong Wei, world keirin champion Azizulawang Hasni, world champion Syarul Azman Mike Mahen (bodybuilding), Rafiq Ismail (bowling) and Mohd Al-Jufferi Jamari (silat) to be crowned Sportsman of the Year.

Silat champion Siti Rahmah Mohamed Nasir was named as Sportswoman of the Year 2016. The 30-year old silat exponent bagged the honour after she won four gold medals in all the four tournaments she took part in last year.

Both the Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year received a trophy and RM 20,000 each.

Other winners of the night include national diving icons Pandelela Rinong and Cheong Jun Hoong who was honoured as Best Women’s Team for diving; and national shuttlers Goh V Shem and Tan Wee Kiong as Best Men’s team.

Photo: ASN

Here’s the full list of winners at the ASN 2016: 

Sportsman of the Year – Abdul Latif Romly

Sportswoman of the Year – Siti Rahmah Mohd Nasir

Best Men’s Team – Goh V Shem-Tan Wee Kiong

Best Women’s Team – Pandelela Rinong-Cheong Jun Hoong

Best Female Paralympian – Siti Noor Radiah Ismail

Best Male Coach – R. Jaganathan (Para-Athletics)

Best Female Coach – Chin Eei Hui (Badminton)

TM Team Malaysia 2016 Award – Azizulhasni Awang

Special Award – Datuk Dina Rizal

Sports Figure Award – Tun Jeanne Abdullah & Tunku Tan Sri Imran Tuanku Ja’afar

Other posts by