Cycling, KL 2017

Fatehah Mustapa aiming for 4 gold medals at 2017 SEA Games

We usually think of Azizulhasni Awang at the mention of national track cycling in Malaysia. Another name that is prominent in the track cycling scene is 27-year old Fatehah Mustapa, who is targeting gold at the 2017 Kuala Lumpur SEA Games.

She’s done it before

Fatehah is no stranger to the SEA Games, she has won three gold in the 2011 Jakarta/Palembang SEA Games, and three bronze at the 2007 Nakhon Ratchasima SEA Games in Thailand.

Now she’s back, and she’s determined to rake in at least another four gold medals in the track cycling event at the 2017 SEA Games in Kuala Lumpur. She will be competing in the sprint, keirin and the 500 m time trial event.

For the team sprint, she will team up with Farina Shawati Mohd Adnan, where both of them are hoping to clinch gold.

Could she be the most successful female track cyclist in Malaysia?

“My focus right now are the three events, the sprint, keirin, and team sprint. If the 500 m time trial event is listed, then I will definitely get in on it.” Fatehah told Berita Harian. By securing her gold medals, she is also hoping to go down in history as the most successful female track cyclist the country has ever seen.

“I have no problems going up against the top riders in ASEAN, although it’s more difficult at the Asian level. But whatever it is, I won’t get overconfident, I will still train intensively so I can secure victory.” she added. “I hope Farina feels the same way, we need to win.”

One final hurrah

Fatehah also mentioned that this could very well be her last SEA Games, so she will make the most out of the next few months to prepare the event. She’s not sure if track cycling will be listed in the Philippines in 2019.

“I need to be in top shape physically as it’s not easy to compete in four events over three days,” said Fatehah, who also recently secured a four-year sponsorship from CIMB alongside her fellow national track cyclist, Azizulhasni Awang.

The 2017 Kuala Lumpur SEA Games will be held at the Bukit Jalil national stadium from Aug 19 until 31.

Other posts by