All you need to know about the Malaysia Cup draw

The 2016 Malaysia Cup draw will take place on May 23 at 10.30pm and will feature sixteen teams from the Malaysia Super League (MSL) and the Malaysia Premier League (MPL).

The event will be shown live on TV9.

The best eleven teams in the first division (FELDA United, Johor Darul Takzim, Selangor, T-Team, Kedah, Kelantan, PDRM, Terengganu, Perak, Sarawak, Pahang) and the top five teams from the second division (Malacca United, Kuala Lumpur, Negeri Sembilan, Johor Darul Takzim II, PKNS FC) will be drawn into four groups of four teams each.

The race for the last few spots in the M-League was close as it was between Sarawak, Pahang and Penang. The Crocs started Matchday 11 in last position, but ensured Malaysia Cup qualification when they defeated Perak 3-2 in a thrilling encounter. Razip Ismail’s Pahang were outclassed by The Southern Tigers but The Elephants were already three points ahead of both of their rivals. Penang missed out on qualifying for the Malaysia Cup after losing out 2-1 to league leaders FELDA United at the Bandaraya Stadium in Georgetown.

The Premier League also witnessed a three-horse race for the fifth and final Malaysia Cup spot, which consisted of FA Cup runners-up PKNS FC, DRB-HICOM and Kuantan FA. The Pahang-based team’s chances of qualifying were slim because of the PKNS-DRB match. The Greet Bees fell 2-1 at home to E. Elavarasan’s men courtesy of a late Gabriel Guerra strike.

Selangor won the 2015 Malaysia Cup after defeating Kedah 2-0 at the Shah Alam Stadium.

Other posts by