Formula 4 Southeast Asia Championship set for 2016 take off

The Asian Autosport Action Group (Triple A) Sdn Bhd, in partnership with the Automobile Association of Malaysia (AAM), are proud to announce the introduction of the Formula 4 South East Asia Championship, certified by FIA.

Triple A is the Promoter for Formula 4 South East Asia, and the AAM will be the lead FIA affiliate representing all participating FIA SEA zone affiliates. Formula 4 South East Asia will be the most cost-effective of all the Formula 4 championships in the world.

With over 30 years in the motorsport industry, Triple A has successfully trained Asian drivers Jazeman Jaafar, Rio Haryanto, Takuma Sato and Narain Karthikeyan – who have gone on to win in Europe and experienced racing in Formula 1. Our 2006 champion Earl Bamber has just won the 2015 24 Hours Le Mans as a Porsche works driver.

Formula 4 South East Asia will run as an FIA single organisation championship, similar to AsiaCup’s one-team, one-make, one-data and one-cost concept, ensuring a cost-effective transition to formula racing.

Driver budgets will be within the FIA Formula 4 recommended fee of €100,000. The 2016 race calendar will consist of up to six events, with 24-30 races on the world’s newest race circuits in South East Asia.

The all-inclusive driver’s fee includes: registration, entry fees, race-car, race engineering services, consumables, logistics, race tyres, European engineers and driver coaches. The only extras are testing, wet tyres and any damage.

The following circuits and countries are planned for the Formula 4 South East Asia race calendar: Sepang Malaysia, Marina Bay Singapore, Buriram Thailand, Clark Philippines, Penbay Taiwan, Sentul Indonesia and Buddh India.

The F4SEA race-car, chassis and engine will be presented to the media and drivers during the final event of the AsiaCup championship on the 11th December at Sepang International Circuit.

Other posts by