Featured, Motorsport

Audi R8 LMS Cup ready to dazzle Sepang International Circuit

The Audi R8 LMS Cup returns to action in what is proving to be the most competitive season in the sprint race series’ history. With six different winners in as many races, the fight for the 2015 title is as close as it’s ever been. India’s Aditya Patel leads the charge ahead of Thomas Fjordbach and Franky Cheng, who have both been in superb form recently. Hot on their heels comes Malaysian hero and reigning champion Alex Yoong – fourth overall – who will be trying to snatch victory and resume his title defence in front of an enthusiastic home crowd.

Alex Yoong (MAL) Audi TEDA Racing Team at Audi R8 LMS Cup, Penbay International Circuit, Taiwan, 3-5 July 2015.
Alex Yoong (MAL) Audi TEDA Racing Team at Audi R8 LMS Cup, Penbay International Circuit, Taiwan, 3-5 July 2015.

As the championship heads into the second half of the season with Rounds 8 and 9 at the Se-pang International Circuit, the hunt for points is guaranteed to be ferocious.  “During the bril-liant first half of the season we have seen six different winners. The championship is wide open and we are now looking forward to continue our highly competitive season in front of our loyal fans in Malaysia”, said Rene Koneberg, Director of Audi Sport customer racing Asia.

Patel jumped to the top of the Drivers Classification following a solid weekend last month during the Cup’s debut in Taiwan. But despite his consistent results, Patel is the only one of the Cup’s top six drivers who has yet to score an outright victory, and the Team Audi R8 LMS Cup driver will be gunning for all-out glory as he makes his sportscar debut on the 5.543-km circuit.

Just four points behind Patel is fellow series newcomer Fjordbach. Competing for Federal-Mogul Motorparts Racing, the young Dane celebrated his maiden Cup victory in Round 7. Third in the Drivers Classification is Chinese motorsport star Franky Cheng of FAW-VW Audi Racing Team. Cheng scored a trio of podium finishes in Taiwan last month, including his first win of the season, to make impressive strides in his championship campaign. Former Formula 1 driver Yoong of Audi TEDA Racing Team, who began his title defense with a victory in Round 1, is a mere four points behind Cheng.

Alex Yoong (MAL) Audi TEDA Racing Team at Audi R8 LMS Cup, Zhuhai, China, 22  March 2015.
Alex Yoong (MAL) Audi TEDA Racing Team at Audi R8 LMS Cup, Zhuhai, China, 22 March 2015.

Female Swiss GT specialist Rahel Frey rounds out the top five and makes a welcome return to the Cup having missed the three races in Penbay due to Audi commitments in Germany. Having scored a thrilling victory in Round 4 earlier this season, Frey of Castrol Racing Team is hungry for a second win – and the valuable championship points that accompany it. 2012 Audi R8 LMS Cup champion Marchy Lee of Audi Hong Kong Team is seventh as he readies himself to mount a challenge for a second coveted championship title.

As the championship battle set to heat up under scorching Malaysian sun, the country’s fans will have plenty to cheer about, with the two races featuring local hero Yoong.

Founded in 2012, the Audi R8 LMS Cup is the first one-make series from the brand with the Four Rings. The intriguing international field features champions at the top of their game, young talents ready to shine, and passionate enthusiasts. Battles throughout the field highlight this exciting mix of drivers, and make next weekend’s line-up must-watch racing. Following the summer break, the 18-strong grid is raring to go, and under scorching heat and humidity at Sepang, driver fitness is expected to again come into play as it did in Penbay.

unnamedFans at home and around the world can catch the Audi R8 LMS Cup with a live stream on www.audir8lmscup.com (English) and on Cup partner sites LeTV and PPTV (Chinese).

Rounds 8 and 9 of the Audi R8 LMS Cup will be held as part of the Asian Festival of Speed. With qualifying and Superpole set for Saturday, September 5, both sprint races will take place on Sunday, September 6, with Round 8 a rolling start and Round 9, a standing start.

Other posts by